This Worry Isn’t Helping!

I cannot  begin tell you how many times I have read the “Do Not Worry” passage in Matthew.  I have read it so many times, I quote it to myself on a regular basis.  I tell it to my friends who are worrying about things in their life, and I keep the passage in my heart as I pray to my Father for guidance and peace in a situation that causes me to worry.  I should have these emotions under control right?  I would be kidding myself if I thought I did.  Sometimes I do great, I pass a worry onto God and I never look back, and He gets me through it.  Days like today however, I must have had that worry on my heart every second of my day.  It affected my appetite, my driving, my interaction with the kids, and with my husband.  It caused me to clean out long forgotten “junk” drawers to keep my mind off of the issue (well, at least that part was productive).  I have been a mess today.  It seems the bigger the worry, the more I chew on it.  Sure, I gave it to God to do His will for me, but I also reminded Him a lot today of how much this prayer means to me just in case He missed the point, which, I am sure He did not.

Reflecting on Matthew 6:25-34 and  re-reading the passage has brought a warm, gentle, calming breeze into my soul as soothing as my favorite cup of Snickers coffee, well, even better than that!  This scripture has renewed my heart again, it tells me to not set my worry on tomorrow, God knows our basic needs, and if we seek Him first, He will give us those basic needs, not what we think we need. Tomorrow, we make an offer on a home that I fell in love with, tonight, I will try my best to give this situation to God yet again, so that I can be at peace while I sleep tonight.  If you are laying your head down full of worries tonight, please reflect, and read the following passage as a reminder that the Lord will provide for His children if it is in His will.  It is so hard for us to even fathom that someone else knows what we need better than we do ourselves, but our Lord and Master has the ability and the incredible knowledge to provide for His children, and we must trust Him in that.

Matthew 6:26-34 (NKJV)

“Therefore, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body what you will put on.  Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not of more value than they?  Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?  So why do you worry about clothing?  Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil or spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore, do not worry, saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?”  For all of these things the Gentiles [worldly] seek.  For your Heavenly Father knows that you need all of these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all of these things shall be added to you.  Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things…”

May the “…peace of god which surpasses all understanding, guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “This Worry Isn’t Helping!

  1. Kim says:

    Consider the lilies!! That’s one of my favorite sayings, too. I read a quote yesterday that said “Worry is a misuse of imagination.” Obviously not as good as Jesus’ lesson on worry, but I liked that one, too. If it would help to talk about your worries, or to talk about something BESIDES your worries, feel free to give me a call!

Leave a Reply

