I’m Going on a Treasure Hunt

I have been reading a piece of literature full of war, turmoil, love, fear, murder, suspense, hope, romance, jealousy, bitterness, victory, good, evil, and redemption.  Every night I find myself racing through each line of the story just waiting to turn the page to see what happens next.  It has been a thrill for me to see the characters come to life on the pages, and in my dreams, I find myself lost in a far away place right in the middle of a character’s story right beside him as he runs for his life from the king who wishes to destroy him.  The thing that intrigues me most is the fact that this story was written thousands of years ago to bring people like me to a realization of who we are, where we came from, and what had to happen for us to be set free.  Each night as I read my Bible I get lost in the amazing tales of the beloved characters that I value so much.

In Psalm 119 verse 162 the writer states, “I rejoice at your word like one who finds great spoil.”  The word is a treasure like any other; it reveals to us the great mystery of the gospel in 1 Timothy 3:16,  and it tells us how we are to be saved by our Lord Jesus Christ in Acts 2:38.  The Bible tells us how we ought to pray in Matthew 6:9, and  love is defined in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.  We see ordinary men and women leading extraordinary lives because of the hope that they have in their God, in each other, and in the promise of a Savior.  This amazing book resides in our homes, on our shelves, under newspapers, on kitchen counters, and beside our beds on nightstands, but is it residing in our hearts?  Are the words of this priceless book forever etched in our hearts and in our minds as we go about our day?  Are we “storing the word in our heart” as stated in Psalm 119 verse 11?

We must allow ourselves to take hold of the treasure that our Father has laid before us and dwell in it, live it, and spread it to others.  The Bible’s simple story rings true in each of its pages and anyone, young and old, can relate to the truths and be guided in them.  When is the last time you took a good, deep look into this amazing treasure that has been freely given to you?  I encourage you to take the time to reflect and meditate on this living, breathing text and re-discover this amazing love story between our God and His creation.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “I’m Going on a Treasure Hunt

  1. kdmauck says:

    So true. So many blessings God gives us we totally take for granted, including His Word. There are so many exciting books we can read, but God’s Word is the most true, the most useful, the most valuable.

Leave a Reply

