Beauty Through the Camera Lens

During my short time as a professional photographer, I have seen some amazing images staring at me through the lens of my camera.  These images are seen in between the poses; they peek out when my subjects are in their natural moment and these moments make me want to click my camera to capture the beauty that I see in their faces.   I have seen the father of the bride grab his wife’s hand as their daughter pledges her love to her soon to be husband.  I witnessed a brother and sister swapping smiles and giggles with each other as they switch from one pose to another.  I caught a groom steal a kiss from his new bride as the wedding party get their positions sorted out.  I saw a baby lock eyes with his mother as his face relaxed and formed a sweet angelic smile meant just for mommy.  I saw a little girl twirling in her dress as she watches it ripple in the warm breeze coming up from the lake.  I have seen a boy running in a field catching grasshoppers while looking up at me through the lens to show me his catch.  There are so many instances like this that I have had the pleasure of witnessing and snapping with my camera.  These moments make me reflect on the pure natural beauty that each and every one of us exude every day.  I have had the pleasure to chase three-year old children around as they explore the world around them with wide-eyed wonderment.   I have witnessed a mothers love to a child who is scared of the camera as she comforts her child with hugs, kisses, and a promise of a snow cone.  I have witnessed different parenting techniques, and the ways different sets of siblings tease and taunt each other.

I thank the Lord for the moments that I get to witness, and for the people in my  photo shoots.  I have met many new faces and I am so glad that I have had the opportunity to help them create a memory.  I believe that walking around with a camera in my hand has helped me stop and reflect on things that many of us do not think to look at.  The “incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit” now has a new meaning to me when I look on the face of a newborn.   I have begun to understand how “He has made everything beautiful in its time.”  I see the verse “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord” in action as parents tend to their children during a session.  I am so forever thankful for this talent that I have been given, and I am thankful that it is opening my eyes to so many wonderful things in life.  I look forward to new adventures and challenges as I attempt to capture the beauty that radiates through us all.   Let us all remember that as we stop to look into the eyes of  a child, a wife, a husband or a friend, and as we catch a sunset or a summer rain that  He has made His wonderful works to be remembered…  Palms 111:4.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Beauty Through the Camera Lens

  1. kdmauck says:

    Your part-time job is helping you see God’s glory–it’s great when He gives you a new purpose in addition to being a mom that helps you be a better mom, wife, and Christian.

    • Patti Hall says:

      Ashley, you have wonderful way with words and photos. I can relate to how you feel when you pick up your camera to capture that special moment. Sometimes it hard explain the reason for a photo, it is very personal at times. Continue to spread God word and his love through you photos. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. I love you.

Leave a Reply

