Charlotte’s Clothes

I have a beautiful friend who has an amazing wardrobe.  She has all the latest fashions and I am sure, outdated fashions that she just knows will come back one of these days.  I came over to her house the other day because she cleaned out her closet and had some of her old clothing for sale.  I felt the urgent need to come over and dig around because I just knew I would find some amazing new stuff just for me.  As I rummaged through her clothing I was in awe of all the textures, colors, patterns, and fit of the clothing.  I tried things on and did spins in the mirror, trying to find that piece that said “Ashley.”  With almost every piece I tried on, I found a problem.  Some pieces were too big or too small, a few of the tops made me feel as if I looked pregnant, and others made me look like a football player.  I began to get discouraged because I remembered the clothes looking great on Charlotte and they looked just plain awful on me.  I bagged up the things that looked close to being a “Ashley” item and brought them to their new home.

Weeks after having the new clothes in my closet, I still felt as if they were Charlotte’s, I could see her as I looked at myself in the mirror with them on.  I began to realize that she had created her own unique fashion identity through her clothing that was all of her own, and my identity was no where to be found.  As Christians, I believe we struggle with this type of identity crisis as well.  We try on different hats in order to find our way in this world only to feel as if we are trying to be someone else, or not feeling quite comfortable with the role that we have decided to place ourselves in.  We struggle with where our identities come from, and  we tend to place our identities in worldly things.  When we introduce ourselves to someone else, we usually explain what we do for a living as if it explains who we are.   The definition of our identity lies within our Creator.

In the book of Ephesians, Paul writes to the church in Ephesus to show them their position in Christ, and how to walk in that position accordingly.  He tells them in chapter two that they were made alive, (vs 1) raised up together, (vs 6) and we are His workmanship created in Christ Jesus for good works (vs 10).  Our identity is in the blood of Christ.  Our identity is in the grace that we have received.  Our identity is found in that amazing bond between brothers and sisters in Christ as we come together to worship the Lord and do His will.  So what is our main identity?  We are Christians.  We were bought at a price, (1 Cor 6:20) and we were made to love and serve our Creator.  The titles we have created for ourselves can never create that kind of sense of belonging and security.  When you look at your life, do you see your identity in Christ or in worldly things?  As I gazed at myself in Charlotte’s clothes, I saw someone else, I saw no identity of my own.  I was looking in the wrong place.  Search your heart today and ask yourself “Where have I placed my identity?”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Charlotte’s Clothes

  1. Charlotte says:

    Wow! That was so amazing! It’s funny how we see others and then compair them to us. I often have struggles with this and for me it’s not clothes but the actual people & their looks. I feel I dont’ measure up and instead of looking at my talents or positive things I just mow myself down because I’m not thin enough, or fit enough, etc. It’s a battle I hope to win someday and I know that if I focus on the things you said, that God wants us to focus on, I will. Thanks for sharing girlfriend! Love you!

Leave a Reply

