Spread the Fall!

When the earth begins to shed it’s vivid colors of green, and exchange them for shades of amber, gold, and orange, my senses begin to overload by all of the sights, smells, and feelings that the fall season brings.  I have always been very fond of fall, and the season brings out new life in me that had previously been beaten down by the summer heat.  Fall embodies change, a rest, and a quiet peace that echoes through the turning leaves as they rustle through the wind and return to the earth.  I always look forward to the traditions of fall, the football season, the Thanksgiving meal, and the cozy socks and sweaters.  It is amazing when I think about how the changes in seasons affect my moods, and even my activities.  Fall makes me come to life, it begs me to be outdoors, taking in nature, and it seems to make me an over all happier, and calmer person.  With each season, I see my moods and actions change just as the earth goes in and out of season.

The thought of seasons constantly having an effect on my moods made me begin to reflect on how any  atmosphere can ultimately have an effect on our moods.  Today, ask yourself, “What atmosphere have I placed myself in?”  Just as  fall makes me a happier, more outgoing person, so do my church family and friends.  The setting that surrounds my family and I is one of comfort and forgiveness, full of growth and compassion.  So many of us get plopped down into situations that have us surrounded by nothing but negativity and blame.  It is as if the hot summer sun is beating down on us making us cranky, irrational, and blind to the relief of a soothing fall breeze.  We become surrounded by co-workers, or friends and family who just seem to make the mood a bit more of a drag and we find ourselves maybe even imitating those emotions as well.  We also allow foul language and off-color remarks enter our homes through our televisions, which send a cold winter like chill through our hearts and make our conscience cold to the trash we take in.

In the book of Phillipians, Paul encourages the Church in Phillipi  to be joyful and united while meditating on pure thoughts.  In chapter 4 verse 8 it states, “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy- meditate on these things.”  Sometimes, we may very well find ourselves in a situation that maybe isn’t ideal, but I also believe that just as the changes of the season bring a new sense of comfort for different people, so you can too be that comfort, and reflect those things spoken of in Philippians 4:8 to the others around you.  Who knows, maybe you can change their 110 Summer heat into a fresh, crisp autumn morning filed with the comforting smell  firewood burning.

Remember to place yourself and your loved ones in an atmosphere that is welcoming and inviting.  Remember to place yourself in the Son’s glory, and remember to take that glory in and share it with others.  If we reflect on those things that make us at peace with God and ourselves, we will radiate our Father’s love to others and welcome them into our warm, fall, like glow.

Happy  Fall Everyone 🙂



Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spread the Fall!

  1. Kim says:

    I figured you’d have to have a fall post. It’s not just God’s master artist handiwork that can teach us about Him in fall; it’s also the effects of outward sights, feels, and sounds can have on us. Thanks, sister!

Leave a Reply

