Go Ahead! Flirt a Little…

“Your teeth are like a flock of shorn ewes that have come up from the washing, all of which bear twins, and not one among them has lost its young.”  Song of Solomon 4:2

Ok, so this is the wall post that graced my Facebook page the other day.  Most people looked at it and thought it was crazy,  but when I read it, I blushed, and felt beautiful.  My husband decided to “artistically” tell me that he though my smile was beautiful using a verse from Songs of Solomon.  I was intrigued by his romantic gesture, and returned a grand gesture myself using a verse from the Songs as well.

When he got home that day, I was on top of the world, feeling like a “woman” and basking in the compliments sent my way.  He grabbed me and gave me a hello kiss which caused our girls to go running off screaming “Ewwwwww!”  While walking down the hall, I overheard Rylee tell Kadence, “Aww, they are in Looove.”  It made me smile  and think to myself I am glad they can see it.

As parents, we get caught up in the chaos surrounding our marriage.  We have jobs to do and things to fix, kids to be fed, and pants to iron.  So many of us feel as if we are but ships passing in the night, and rarely take the time to show affection during these times.  I am pretty guilty of this.  I just forget to give my husband a quick kiss when he comes home, or give him that “wink” across the dining room table.

I remember feeling so secure as a child when I caught my dad stealing a quick kiss from my mom, and I want my children to feel this same security.  Our children need to see the love that we as spouses feel about the other.  This gives our children a loving environment, and gives them a sense of comfort and belonging.  When my husband tells the kids that their Momma is beautiful, their reaction to his compliment is almost the same reaction as mine.  A feeling of flattery and belonging.

So go ahead, flirt a little in front of the kids, steal a kiss, give a compliment, give a hug, pick a flower, cuddle on the couch.  Show your children how a married couple are to behave with one another appropriately, and give your spouse, and your kids the comfort and belonging that comes from these signs of love and affection.

‎”Set me as a seal upon your heart, as a seal upon your arm; for love is as strong as death….Many waters cannot quench love, nor can the flood drown it.”  Song of Solomon 8:7

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Go Ahead! Flirt a Little…

  1. Kim says:

    Okay everyone altogether: Awwwwww! Great post, you sweet little wifey.

  2. ceemee says:

    This made me smile. And what a wonderful reminder to married couples especially those who are not in the “honeymoon phase” already. I think every year should be like the couple’s first year together: fresh and romantic and extremely full of love and “cheese”.

  3. […] found like great post about flirting and letting your kids see you flirt […]

Leave a Reply

