Veterans Tribute: Leaving Your Legacy

What kind of legacy will you leave behind one day?  Have you thought about the values, traditions, and flaws you have passed down to your children, or will pass down to your future children?  I met a man in the VA waiting room a few weeks ago that was living the legacy of military service.  He explained how his grandfather had served, how his father had served,  how he had served, and how his daughter was now serving with her third tour in Iraq.  His eyes lit up as he talked about the pride he felt that his family had such a part in our country’s freedom.  It looked as if he got a little misty eyed when he talked about his daughter and her job as a guard at one of the prisoner facilities in Iraq.  Four generations of this man’s family had all served the red, white, and blue, and the citizens of our nation.  I was proud to have met him, and as we left, I shook his hand and told him thank you.

Meeting him made me think of the legacy I would like to pass on to my children.  I want  them to know how to show kindness to strangers from my Momma, the hospitality of my Nana and Aunt Lisa.  Saying what you mean and meaning what you say from my Dad.  I want them to see honor in serving our country through my husband, his Grandpa and my amazing Papa.  I want them to be gentle spirits like my Mom-In-Law, and have a fun loving spirit, and know the importance of family like my Dad-In-Law.  Most importantly, I want them to know God as Jake and I have gotten to know Him through our sweet Grandmothers and other influential family members.  To see servanthood in their wonderful Daddy.  I want them to see God in our marriage.  To see His love, His grace, His patience in mine and Jake’s actions.  I pray often for Him to mold me into the likeness of His image so that I can teach my children about Him and what He has done for us all.  I pray that they will not pick up the traits of my faults and flaws.

I pray in confidence that if I adhere to the teachings found in Proverbs 22:6 which states, “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.”,  God will hold true to His promises.  Reflect on the legacy you want to leave and hold true to it.  Allow God to direct your steps (Proverbs 3:5-6) as you discern what is important in this life.  I am thankful to the veterans who stamp an honorable willingness to serve America onto the hearts of their children, and who allow God to stamp their hearts with truth and love.  I am thankful for the Godly parents and grandparents who work together to mold their children and grandchildren into fruitful, faithful servants, because they had done the same.  I am thankful for the brotherhood of the Church who strengthens and sharpens each other in Christ.  And I am thankful to God, in whom all blessings flow, who sustains us, protects us, and guides us through this life into our home in heaven.  What legacy will you leave?

“The LORD our God, the LORD is one. You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.  And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.  You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.  You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.  You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

Deuteronomy 6:4-9

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Veterans Tribute: Leaving Your Legacy

  1. Good article. I found your blog through your article in Katharos, and was directed to it by another writer there, Laura Kurk.

    I’d never seen Katharos before, so was please to find it. I’m forward all the articles on to the families of teenage daughters in our congregation, and to other ministers.

    Great work at Katharos and on your blog here! If youget a chance, visit my column at Family Fountain.

    • hudsonfive says:

      I am so glad you found the Katharos NOW site. It has been such a great site to write for, and I really think teens like it. Our editor, Lauren Bookout, will be thrilled to hear that the site is being forwarded on. I will certainly check out your blog, and thanks for stoping by! Go to http://www.comefillyourcup.com and check it out as well. It is another site I write for. It is ran by Erron Sprouse, a graduate form Bear Valley and she does an amazing job. We just finished up a series over “Principals for Successful Motherhood” that you may want to look at for your families. The author, Joy Jensen, did a fabulous job, and we got so many great comments and questions that came from the series. Thanks for browsing around, and I will be sure to do the same.

  2. I’ll check out Come Fill Your Cup as well.

    I forwarded Katharos Now on to about 60 people – teens, parents of teens, elders, preachers, youth ministers, blogger & writers, and even a lady police officer who works with teen girls that have been abused in dating relationships, anyone who impacts the life of a teen. I know at least one of the people I sent it to clicked “like” on FB.

    WB

  3. I really like how you describe to HOLD on to this vision of leaving a legacy. I think about this often. What sort of legacy am I leaving. My desire is one of a peaceful, light-hearted, God-defining, God-loving, sweet and tender Mom who acknowledges Him in all I do.

    • hudsonfive says:

      Thank you! In whatever you do, you are leaving a legacy for your family to follow, which is a big responsibility. Now all we have to decide is what do we want to leave behind, and how am I going to make it happen…looks like yours will be beautiful 😉

Leave a Reply

